In May 2011, The Anganwadi Project was officially incorporated as a Registered Not-For-Profit Association in Australia (INC9895089). We have assembled a dynamic and dedicated group of Board Members, all professionals from various disciplines who give their time and expertise pro-bono to further the management and sustainability of the project.


Jane Rothschild

Jane is a Co-founder and President of the Board of The Anganwadi Project. Previously she was a Director of Architects Without Frontiers. She graduated from the Harvard University Graduate School of Design and completed a Masters of Heritage Conservation the University of Sydney. In 1992, she co-founded Dickson Rothschild, Sydney and in 2007 became a Director of Architects Without Frontiers.

Jane has extensive experience working on humanitarian projects, having worked with Habitat for Humanity on projects in Australia, Banda Aceh and Vietnam.

Jane’s leadership keeps TAP’s vision and mission community driven, sustainable and grass roots focused.


Caroline Kite

Caroline is a registered architect and a Masters of Architecture graduate from the University of New South Wales. She has over 10 years industry experience and has worked for various architectural firms, including Allen Jack+Cottier as Senior Architect. Caroline’s passion for the construction process and high quality design and detail has led her to currently work with Bellevarde Constructions.

Caroline became involved with The Anganwadi Project as a volunteer in Ahmedabad, India. She has continued to contribute to TAP through repeat visits to Ahmedabad to mentor new volunteers, carry out repairs on existing preschools, volunteer workshops, talks and exhibitions and now as a Board Member and Volunteer Mentor.


Paul Barrett

Paul is a Co-Founder, Director and Wealth Advisor at Absolute Wealth Advisors, a Sydney based firm providing personal financial strategy and investment advice to executives, business owners, dual citizens and high net wealth families.  Paul and Absolute Wealth Advisors have a history of financial and personal support for a variety of charities. Paul has 27 years of experience in banking, investment management and financial planning. Paul holds a Bachelor of Economics, Master’s in Business – Finance and a Diploma of Financial Planning.  He is also a Fellow Chartered Financial Planner with the Association of Financial Advisors and a Registered Tax (Financial) Adviser with the Tax Practitioners Board.

Board_Peter Arthur.png

Peter Arthur

Peter Arthur is a consultant to Allens where he was a partner for 23 years. He also works in the management of 2 biotech companies, which he co-founded in 2012, and is a director of a start up pharmaceutical company.  Peter has a strong personal interest in modern vernacular architecture and the use of low cost and innovative building materials, and has experience in the building programs of other not for profit organisations with which he is involved. Peter also has a deep interest in India.


Helen Lochhead
Board Member

Helen Lochhead is a cross-disciplinary, architect, landscape architect and urbanist, who combines teaching, research, practice and advisory roles. Prior to joining University of New South Wales as Dean of the Faculty of Built Environment, her career focused on the inception, planning, design and delivery of complex multidisciplinary projects ranging from a city-wide improvements programs to major urban regeneration projects both in Australia and the US.

A graduate of both the Sydney and Columbia Universities she has taught in Australia and the United States. She was a Fulbright Scholar and recipient of numerous Fellowships including the Lincoln/Loeb Fellowship at the Graduate School of Design at Harvard University and the Lincoln Institute of Land Policy.

Helen has held roles with Deputy Government Architect, Sydney Harbour Foreshore Authority, Sydney Olympic Park Authority, NSW Independent Planning Commission, National Board of Australian Institute of Architects, ACT Planning and Land Council, Gungahlin Development Authority and NSW Heritage Council.

In her current role Helen is actively engaged in building more opportunities for student exchange and engagement in India through Universities and real project experience on projects such as The Anganwandi Project.

Photo Sarah.jpg

Sarah Schoffel
Board Member

Sarah is an architect with more than 25 year’s experience. She has worked for architectural practices in Sydney, Melbourne and London and is a director of Sandberg Schoffel Architects in Sydney. Sarah has also been a school operations manager and has a strong interest in school and preschool education and the impact education makes on children’s lives in disadvantaged communities. She has recently completed an interdisciplinary Master’s program in Disaster, Design and Development at RMIT, focusing on the use of design thinking as a strategic tool in the resolution of wicked problems like poverty, natural disasters, civil conflict and climate change.

Sarah joined TAP in 2018 as a volunteer on its first RDT project in Andhra Pradesh, India. Since completing that project (Harivillu 1) she has continued to assist TAP with fund raising, administration and recruiting and now as a Board Member.

Screen Shot 2018-12-18 at 1.27.21 pm.png

Jane Johnson
Immediate Past Vice-President

Jane Johnson is an architect with over 25 years’ experience. She has worked in architectural practices in Sydney, Paris, Amsterdam & Lyon. Jane was previously a Director at Allen, Jack + Cottier Architects, Sydney, and now runs her own practice, JJA. Through Jane’s association with Architects Without Frontiers, she became involved with The Anganwadi Project.

Jane has been an integral member of the TAP board from 2011 to 2019. Through her tireless dedication to the project, Jane has been key to building The Anganwadi Project to the organisation that it is today and has guided many volunteers through her vast architectural experience in the design and construction of high quality schools for the communities we serve.

Thank you Jane for your incredible work!

Screen Shot 2019-03-08 at 7.55.31 pm.png

Delwyn Everard
Immediate Past Secretary

The board are extremely grateful for Delwyn’s significant contribution to TAP’s governance over the past two years, as secretary of the board from July 2017 to February 2019. Thank you, Delwyn!